Announcement |

Tui Whanau

Tui Whanau

Anika Potgieter

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

Mathematics and Whanau teacher. I see myself as an educator wanting to cultivate a positive attitude toward learning (specifically Maths) in children. Apart from maths, I am also passionate about sports (especially netball) and using the skills learnt on the sports field to teach life lessons in the class.

E: anika.potgieter@ajhs.school.nz

Candice Brons

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

I am a Year 8 Homeroom, Physical Education, Social Studies, Food Technology and Dance (Hip Hop) Teacher. I am passionate about engaging children with genuine learning through self-perception i.e. Growth Mindset.

E: candice.brons@ajhs.school.nz

Debra Wood

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

I am Head of the Digital Curriculum and enjoy all aspects of Digital Technologies including Technological Design and Developmental processes. My teaching passion is programming and scripting with a variety of different languages (i.e. HTML, CSS, Javascript, Python, Basic, C). I also enjoy electronics and robotics. I hold a degree in Computer Science and a Masters in Education. A life long learner, I am currently studying research stats and the impact of autonomy and independent thinking on student knowledge, attitude and skill acquisition.

E: debra.wood@ajhs.school.nz

Ellen Wallace

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

Teacher, wife, mother of two, and all-round awesome Canadian! My passion is to encourage students to reach their unique potential, challenging them whilst supporting them to love learning. I love those lightbulb moments! I spend my time outdoors, walking, reading, travelling and having fun with my family.

E: ellen.wallace@ajhs.school.nz

Gemma Woods

SENCO Learning Support

About Me

Year 7 homeroom teacher. I am a qualified primary school teacher and started my career as a Year 5 and Year 6 teacher in 2013. I’m passionate about building rapport with students and creating a classroom environment that students enjoy coming to every day.

E: gemma.woods@ajhs.school.nz

Georgi Ridler

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

Y7 Homeroom Teacher. Teaching followed several years spent as a sailing instructor in various locations around the world. After a degree in Sport Science, I trained as a PE teacher at the University of Southampton. Outdoor education is my passion and I enjoy watching my students develop both personally and academically.

E: georgi.ridler@ajhs.school.nz

Gina Morkel

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

Born to teach Mathematics. Been teaching Maths since 1996. Qualified Secondary Maths teacher but teaching at AJHS since 2014. I treat students in my classes as if they were my own. Good sense of humour, volleyball coach, married and a mum of 3. Value honesty, integrity and mutual respect.

E: gina.morkel@ajhs.school.nz

Jamie Gresham

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

I have been teaching for 4 years and loved every minute of it. My goal as a teacher is to make learning memorable and addictive. My energy is my greatest asset. I stay active by running, gyming and playing AFL.

E: jamie.gresham@ajhs.school.nz

Jamie Skelton

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

Maths and whanau teacher at AJHS. Aim to support students in their learning whilst giving them control over their education - achieved by giving students access to content subject at home, enabling them to work in an environment they’re comfortable with.

E: jamie.skelton@ajhs.school.nz

Liz Fox

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

Maths teacher at AJHS since 2016. Why is mathematics so important? Mathematics engages the rigour of logical as well as the creative within each of us. I love teaching maths because it is so satisfying solving problems and it is a gateway subject that opens many career doors for students.

E: liz.fox@ajhs.school.nz

Maria Barnard

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

“I love what I do, and I do what I love…” I am a Secondary trained teacher with a great passion for growing and teaching young minds, whilst walking alongside them, in becoming wholesome contributors to our society, as they are our future. I have been teaching for 17 years and love the challenges that teaching brings. I have great communication skills that work well alongside my students who have varying academic abilities. I am innovative and love the increasing demand teaching brings, especially through digital learning.

E: maria.barnard@ajhs.school.nz

Mark Newman

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

Maths teacher - I love the basics - teach simply and clearly. Pupils always say they love to be in my class cause I make it simple.

E: mark.newman@ajhs.school.nz

Michael Callon

Asst Tui Whanau Leader

About Me

A teacher of Homeroom, P E and Health for 6 years. Playing and coaching sport is a passion and I bring many aspects of this to the classroom. My goal is to create an engaging and authentic environment where our students can enjoy learning and discover their passions.

E: michael.callon@ajhs.school.nz

Michael Clark

Tui Whanau Teacher

About Me

Year 7 Homeroom and Whanau teacher. I am an experienced educator, having taught across a range of educational settings that includes Primary, Junior High and Secondary School. I am a dedicated and passionate individual who embraces every student and their unique qualities. I have a love of all sports; enjoy reading, travel and spending time with my wife and 2 children.

E: michael.clark@ajhs.school.nz

Sarah Manning

Tui Whanau Leader

About Me

I've been at Albany Junior High School since 2010, and have taught Homeroom and Physical Education for a number of years. My passion is seeing the youth of today in the outdoors, and I love my role as Teacher in charge of Outdoor Education. I'm so grateful for the variety of students and teachers I spend time with, and really enjoy being involved in the pastoral care and guidance of our students.

E: sarah.manning@ajhs.school.nz