Announcement |

We are now at Covid Alert Level 3. Click here to understand our restrictions at each level. Please note, enrolments for 2022 are still taking place. 

Technology

Technology is a subject that incorporates human intervention by design. It teaches a broad technological understanding with hard and soft materials such as food, electronics, graphics, robotics and digital technologies. Students learn skills that will offer future opportunities and could create change in the wider community. Technology is also a university approved subject and career pathway, which can be followed up here

As the world develops, it is increasingly important for students to understand how technological developments impact on society, the economy, and the environment. Whether or not they plan to engage in a career in a technology field or not, all students can benefit from knowledge gained in technology education.

Year 7 and 8 students cover five areas of technology. They spend two terms in each subject during Y7 and Y8. These subjects include; digital technologies, food, product design in multi materials, robotics, fabrics and digital technology. In Y9 and Y10 students can choose to take any of the technology courses as ‘option subjects’. The below pages give more details about each area.

Digital Technologies Y7 – 8

Digital Technologies Y9 – 10

Creative Digital Technology Y9 – 10

Design and Visual Communication Y9 – 10

Fabric Technology Y7 – 10

Food Technology Y7 – 8

Food Technology Y9 – 10

 

Please contact us with any questions:

Alan Stephenson – HOLA (DVC & Multi Materials) alan.stephenson@ajhs.school.co.nz  

Natalie Goslin – AHOLA (Digital Creative Technology) natalie.goslin@ajhs.school.nz

Alana Geach – (Food Technology) alana.geach@ajhs.school.nz 

Aimee Deutschmann – (Food Technology) aimee.deutschmann@ajhs.school.nz 

Candice Brons – (Food Technology) candice.brons@ajhs.school.nz

Jo Molloy – (Fabric Technology) joanna.molloy@ajhs.school.nz

Debra Wood – (Computer Technology) debra.wood@ajhs.school.nz 

Poppy Kirkflexton – (Design & Visual Communication) poppy.kirkflexton@ajhs.school.nz

Tania Betterton – (Design & Visual Communication) tania.betterton@ajhs.school.nz

Susanna Gao – (Design & Visual Communication) susanna.gao@ajhs.school.nz

Rod Caudwell – (Multi Materials Technology) rod.caudwell@ajhs.school.nz